Research Guides: Biology: Find Articles

Recommended Databases

This guide describes some of the most useful databases for finding biology research. To see a complete list of databases go to the library's Databases & Indexes page. If you are searching off campus, enter your last name and barcode for access.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides full text online access to over 4500 Elsevier scholarly journals and ebooks from the humanities and physical, life, health, and social sciences.
Science Citation Index Expanded (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences.
Some of the disciplines covered include agriculture, astronomy, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, chemistry, computer science, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, oncology, pediatrics, pharmacology, physics, plant sciences, psychiatry, surgery, veterinary science and zoology.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JOVE) - Education Unlimited This link opens in a new window
Simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations of procedures and techniques, covering biology, chemistry, engineering, psychology, statistics, physics, clinical skills, and environmental sciences.
Our subscription only covers JoVE's Education content and does not include the content marked Research. When using the Search, results tagged “Research” will not be available.

Biology Databases

AGRICOLA (Agricultural OnLine Access) This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA describes publications, dissertations and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources.
Aquatic Science Collection (now called Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection) This link opens in a new window
Includes Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database, Meteorological & Geoastrophyical Abstracts, and ASFA

The ASFA series is the premier reference in the field of aquatic resources. Input to ASFA is provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature.
Additional databases, include: Aqualine‎, Oceanic Abstracts and Water Resources Abstracts.

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
National resource for molecular biology information

Biology Indexes

Avibase
An extensive database information system about all birds of the world.
FishBase
A relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more. Contains practically all fish species known to science.
Mammalian Species
Cumulative Index for the Mammalian Species published by the American Society of Mammalogists
Marine Biology
Plants Database
Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals, popular interest magazines and reference sources. Multidisciplinary coverage, including arts, humanities, sciences and technology. Provides full text coverage to the New York Times from 1985 to the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage, including arts, humanities, sciences and technology.
Contains scholarly journals and popular interest magazines. Many articles are available in full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of thousands of high-quality academic journals and ebooks across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a comprehensive multidisciplinary research database. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and market reports all together in one platform.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides full text online access to over 4500 Elsevier scholarly journals and ebooks from the humanities and physical, life, health, and social sciences.
UMBrella This link opens in a new window
Search Healey Library Resources including articles, books, ebooks, journals, maps, videos and recordings.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the combined Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.
This is one of the largest scholarly databases to which Healey Library subscribes. Use Cited Reference to find out who used a particular book or article for his/her research.