Research Guides: Anthropology: Find Books

Search Healey Library Resources and Beyond

UMBrella This link opens in a new window
Search Healey Library Resources including articles, books, ebooks, journals, maps, videos and recordings.
WorldCat @ UMass Boston This link opens in a new window
Combined online catalog of over 9,000 libraries customized to connect directly to Healey Library holdings & interlibrary loan (ILL).

Recommended E-book Collections

Full-text electronic books are found in the UMBrella by selecting Filter your results: eBooks under the search box. These collections are recommended:

Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companion series covers the fields of literature, classics, philosophy, religion, and cultural studies. Each Companion includes essays devoted to a particular person or subject such as Freud, Hemingway, modern Latin American culture, and the African American novel.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures Environment This link opens in a new window
This database brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters. Many cultures are represented, including Dutch, English, French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, African, and a host of Native American peoples. The database is rich in maps, facsimile versions of important books, and images by DeBry, Catlin, and others. All volumes of The Jesuit Relations are included, in both the original language and in English. The database provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists: traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.

On-campus and off-campus access is limited to users with a UMass Boston network ID and password.

Healey Library Print Collection

Search UMBrella by keyword or subject for resources on your topic. If there is a specific resource that you require, try searching in Advanced Search by title or author.

Books related to Anthropology can usually be found under the GN Call Number. Books dealing with Folklore or Manners and Customs can be found under the GR and GT Call Numbers.

All of these books can be found on the 8th floor of Healey, if the catalog location is listed as Main Stacks. Reference works are found in the Reference collection on the 4th floor.

Stop by the 4th floor Reference desk if you need additional help.