You can find a list of all the databases at the library's Databases & Indexes page. If you are searching from off campus, you will be prompted for your UMass Boston email and password.
Providing full-text access to hundreds of sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports. Fields covered include athletic training, coaching, exercise science and fitness, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, orthopedics, physical therapy, sports psychology, and more.
MEDLINE® is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM controlled vocabulary. Extending back to 1946, annual input now exceeds 700,000 citations.
CINAHL Ultimate is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
Unlimited users
PsycINFO is the major research database in the field of psychology. It covers all areas of psychology as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations and contains over 2.6 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s.
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. You must create an account. Upon your first visit, click on the Sign Up link at the bottom. You can then create your account using your existing Google account or make a completely separate account. With that account, you also get access to the mobile app, and you can log into the database without having to go through the library link for 150 days.
For tablet/mobile devices: download the app from the App Store or Google Play. Account creation is best done on a laptop/desktop initially to link to your UMass Boston access. Or while making sure you're signed out from the app, you can sign in with the account one time on a laptop/desktop to make that link. Afterward, use the mobile app for 150 days without needing to link it again.
The first time the web app launches, it can take a few minutes. If the wheel keeps spinning for more than 5 minutes, you may need to close out all your tabs and clear your browser’s cache, cookies, and history from all time.
UpToDate is a clinical decision support resource that delivers evidence-based insights and recommendations authored and edited by world-known experts in their field. It’s designed to be clear, actionable, and apply to the patient at the point of care.
Registration required Click "sign in" and select the "Sign in with OpenAthens" option. This registers and signs you in using UMass Boston credentials. First-time users will see a "Complete Registration" page to fill out your name, specialty, etc. before you arrive at the database.
