Research Guides: Scholarly Articles and Journals: Find Scholarly Articles

Library Databases

Frequently referred to as the invisible or deep web -- as opposed to the free web -- Healey Library's subscription databases provide well organized and highly selective coverage of scholarly journals.

Some databases contain scholarly journals, exclusively. Others have a mix of scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers and other material. In these databases, you can limit your search to scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals.

Scholarly ONLY

Browzine Library: Peer-Reviewed Journals in a Browsable Format
Browse, read and organize scholarly journals from your mobile device or computer
JSTOR
JSTOR is a collection of thousands of high-quality academic journals and ebooks across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides full text online access to over 4500 Elsevier scholarly journals and ebooks from the humanities and physical, life, health, and social sciences.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to the combined Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.
This is one of the largest scholarly databases to which Healey Library subscribes. Use Cited Reference to find out who used a particular book or article for his/her research.

Scholarly and Popular BOTH

Academic OneFile
Contains scholarly journals, popular interest magazines and reference sources. Multidisciplinary coverage, including arts, humanities, sciences and technology. Provides full text coverage to the New York Times from 1985 to the present.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete features thousands of full-text journals. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Preview New User Interface
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is a comprehensive multidisciplinary research database. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and market reports all together in one platform.

Finding Scholarly Articles

To find scholarly articles in a library database:

Go to the Healey Library homepage
Click on Databases List from the menu on the left
Select a database by title, subject or material type
If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your campus username and password
If there is an option, select Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly Journal
Type your keywords in the search box
In the results list, look for PDF or full text links to the article title
Click on the link to access the full article

To find scholarly articles in UMBrella:

From the Healey Library homepage, type your keywords into the UMBrella search box
- For example: for articles about child abuse, type “child abuse” in the search box. Quotation marks around a phrase will search for that exact phrase.
Then select Articles under Material Type
Use the Availability filter to:
- limit your results to articles that are immediately available, by checking Full Text Online
- limit to peer-reviewed articles, by checking Peer-reviewed Journals
Click on an article title that interests you
Look under Find Online to see how you can access the article's full text
Click one of the links
If you are off campus, you will need to enter your campus username and password

Getting an Article

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include a link to the full text which will take you to the complete article. For help getting an article, follow these steps:

Check if the library has a subscription to the journal through the Journal Finder
Download the browser extension Lean Library to be notified if the library has full-text access
Search Google Scholar
Request a copy of the article from Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Ask a librarian for help