Apps with Academic Applications

PubMed4Hh

• PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh) is an app for discovering relevant health information at the National Library of Medicine.

• Compatible with iOS and Andriod devices

• App is a free. Download and start using

Searching Features:

• PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome): search with a well-formulated clinical query

• askMEDLINE: a free-text, natural language search tool

• Consensus Abstracts: Search using PICO or askMEDLINE then select concurring abstracts from journals

• JOURNAL BROWSER allows you to search for PubMed indexed journals

• CQs: Use Clinical Queries to search journal articles. Indicate Category (therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical predictions guideline) and Emphasis (specific, sensitive) to focus search strategy

• Archive: save articles for reading later or email them

AML - AccessMyLibrary

• Access the Gale Databases from your device

• Free app, compatible with iOS and Andriod devices

• One-time log-in using your library's password, the mobile app will give you free, unlimited access to your school library's reputable, authoritative Gale online resources — anytime, anywhere

• Search Gale individual databases or use the Powersearch option

• The app allows you to search Gale Databases:  Academic OneFile, InfoTrac, Business Insights and many more

Setting up an Account:

• Link from this web page to download app from iTunes or Google Play

• OR go directly to iTunes or Google Play and search for AML 

• Once downloaded choose from libraries near you “College Libraries"

• Search for UMass Boston from the list of libraries

• Enter your email for authentication. A password will be sent to your email account.

Additional Information: Cengage Learning

EBSCOhost

• Search EBSCOhost databases such as Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, SocINDEX, PsycINFO and many more

• Search for full-text articles, email, download and share

Download the FREE EBSCOhost (EBSCO Publishing) app from the Healey Library Databases list search for:

• EBSCOhost Mobile
  (Search the library's EBSCOhost databases on your mobile device including Blackberry phones, Dell Axioms, iPhones, Palm 750s, and more.)

To authenticate the EBSCOhost app after clinking on the link

• Choose a database from the list such as Academic Search Complete and hit search.

• In the next screen choose “iPhone and Android apps” link from the list of options

• Enter your UMB email address to send yourself instructions on how to download the app to your personal device.

The email will include:

• a download link from iTunes or Google Play

• a authentication key (This must be accessed from your own device.  The authentication link lasts 24 hrs).

Census.gov

America's Economy for iPhone

Description:

The Census Bureau working together with the Bureau of Labor Statistics, and Bureau of Economic Analysis has launched an economic indicator app.  The app provides economic statistical information on indicators the U.S. economy.

The America’s Economy app provides real-time updates for 21 key economic indicators. Key economic measures on employment, manufacturing, international trade, retail sales, and residential construction and sales allow those who follow the U.S. economy to be the first to see whether the indicator has gone up or down since the previous report, and trends over time.

Key Features

• Quick overview of indicators measuring the U.S. economy
• Detailed page for each indicator with trend data
• Share indicators on Facebook, Twitter and via email
• View release schedules for indicators
• Set up notifications and custom views

Download: Download the FREE app

Account: No account needed to start using the app

Additional Information:

America's Economy app