Research Guides: Resources Documenting the Industrial School for Girls: Databases

Databases

Search and browse all of the Healey Library's Database List. Some databases that are not currently available through the Healey Library may be available through other local area libraries. See Visiting Other Libraries.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete features thousands of full-text journals. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
American Ancestors This link opens in a new window
If you are in the residence hall, you will need to use VPN to gain access.
The New England Historic Genealogical Society library is one of the nation’s leading research centers for genealogists of every skill level. In it are housed millions of documents, manuscripts, records, books, microfilms, photographs, artifacts, electronic resources, and other items that preserve and reveal our history. The NEHGS has been collecting information about families in America for over 165 years. Our collections are international in scope and contain significant materials for Canada and Europe.
Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
This database will be available via the Healey Library until December 31, 2016.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of thousands of high-quality academic journals and ebooks across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a comprehensive multidisciplinary research database. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and market reports all together in one platform.

FamilySearch
FamilySearch is a free genealogy service that allows users to search vital records, census records, military records, church records, court records, immigration and naturalization records, obituaries, and more.
Find a Grave
Find a Grave's mission is to find, record and present final disposition information from around the world as a virtual cemetery experience. Find a Grave memorials may contain rich content including pictures, biographies and more specific information.
HeritageQuest Online
HeritageQuest Online, a product of Ancestry.com, includes federal census records, city directories, cemetery indexes, military records, immigration records, and more. This database is available remotely via the Boston Public Library.