American Ethnic Groups & Immigration in the United States

Social Explorer is an online research tool that provides access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates intuitive maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. The site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2010, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2010. Users can customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs for further analysis and presentation.

PolicyMap is a US national data and GIS mapping tool and analytics platform with varied applications. PolicyMap provides access to thousands of data indicators that can be analyzed as layers, as well as data points, on interactive maps. PolicyMap’s data indicators are related to demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, federal program-eligible areas, money and income, lending activity, jobs and economy, education, health, and more. Data can be viewed on a census block or census tract level in many cases, city, county, zip, state, US, as well as by congressional district, school district, state house and state senate districts.

Historical Statistics includes statistics about the United States from the colonial times up to the start of the 21st century. It provides U.S. population, economic, employment, governance and international relations data. Researchers can create and save custom tables.

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Very Short Introductions provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.