Research Guides: Modern Languages: Home

Recommended Databases

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The main index for literature and language research. It indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of thousands of high-quality academic journals and ebooks across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
Alexander Street Press Streaming Video Collection This link opens in a new window
The video cross-search interface lets you search all the Alexander Street video in your library.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.

Highlights from Healey

Access the collection via Alexander Street Press

Literature & Language combines a variety of linguistic, cultural, and literary traditions in a way that allows users to explore and analyze themes and trends from around the world. Areas of focus include France, Spain, Germany, Russia, Japan, and China. Through interviews, biographies, and surveys of regional literature and literary periods, these titles offer researchers and students a comprehensive resource for study of literature through time and around the globe.

-Alexander Street

Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Very Short Introductions provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.

Modern Languages

Librarian

Healey Library Statement on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

Recommended Databases

Highlights from Healey

Access the collection via Alexander Street Press