Research Guides: Statistics and Data by Topic: Economic

Economic Statistics From The U.S. Federal Government

Beige Book
Summarizes current economic data gathered by each of the Federal Reserve Bank districts.

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) This link opens in a new window
Economic statistics by industry

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics website has employment, unemployment, employment projections data and more. Select your data and then choose to view it in either comma or tab delimited format to export into a spreadsheet.
Economic Census
Provides a detailed portrait of the United States' economy once every five years, from the national to the local level.
Economic Indicators
The Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) releases 12 monthly and quarterly Principal Federal Economic Indicators collected by its constituent bureaus: the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA).
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (Economic Research)
Provides several tools for researching economic data, including ALFRED and FRASER.
Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data (ALFRED)
Retrieve economic data on specific dates in history.
Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER)
Provides economic information and data to researchers interested in the U.S. economy.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published from 1878 to 2012, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

FDIC: Bank Data & Statistics
Reports on individual banks and statistics on the industry as a whole from the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the government corporation that oversees and regulates banking.
more...less...
Current as well as historical statistics
View standard reports, or generate your own reports using FDIC Statistics on Depository Institutions.
Federal Reserve Board of Governors
The Federal Reserve Board tracks and reports on a number of financial statistics, including banking statistics

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts, many with full-text access to the NBER Working Papers in the program areas of aging and the elderly, and health and healthcare. Access to full-text of the papers is in PDF format, and they generally do not pre-date the 1990s.

Yahoo Finance
Historical Prices: Covers stock prices from 1965 to the present. Select time period and download the statistics to a spreadsheet.

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) This link opens in a new window
Economic statistics by industry