As its name implies, the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online covers music from all around the world. It examines the many aspects of ethnomusicology such as a place’s musical heritage, cultural groups, musical genres, practices, and performances. It includes many illustrations of instruments, musicians, maps, performances, and snippets of music pieces. It is further enhanced by audio samples of of music from each area of the world.
Through the Oxford Music Online gateway you can search Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music as a group or individually. Together these works form a comprehensive site where you can find information on composers, musical styles, and major musical works
An alternative to Wikipedia. Reference works such as encyclopedias are a good place to find background information on a topic, or to quickly look up a fact. They often include bibliographies telling you where to find additional information.
Credo Reference provides access to a broad variety of reference sources from dictionaries to encyclopedias covering topics from the arts to the sciences. It has an image collection, maps, customizable data, and audio pronunciation files. You can search the whole collection or a specific subject area.
The Gale Virtual Reference collection includes general reference resources as well as titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and the social sciences. You can search the whole collection or a specific subject area.
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
SAGE Knowledge is the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. With more than 2,500 titles, it includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
Expanded access granted by publisher through June 22, 2020 in response to COVID-19: an additional 2500 reference books!