To comply with vendor licensing agreements and accessibility best practices, please link directly to electronic content rather than posting downloaded files, such as pdfs.
Persistent Links/URLs are the best way to link to library resources.
With OpenAthens authentication, the syntax for the links to library resources has changed. If you have any persistent links/URLs with the term, ezproxy.lib.umb.edu ,saved or bookmarked or shared on your reading lists, you will need to update them. As of January 2024, they no longer work.
Use the Athenizer Tool below to strip out the ezproxy string and add the OpenAthens prefix:
The URLs will be encoded (which means, certain special characters will be replaced by percentage signs and codes), which is best practice, but not necessary in most cases. Keep in mind that there are some content providers which won't work with the tool since they don’t use the OpenAthens prefix. EBSCO, Gale, Kanopy, Proquest (except Pivot and African American Heritage), Proquest Ebook Central, Digital Theatre Plus, and Skillsoft URLS will not be using any sort of prefix. In those cases, try taking out the proxy with our Deproxifier:
Create persistent links to databases
Find the Share icon beside the database and copy the link provided.
Create persistent links for books, articles, films
One way is to find the resource in UMBrella and use the “Permalink” option. This link will point to the UMBrella record, which will have the most up-to-date links. Your umbrella.lib.umb.edu permalinks do not have to be updated with the switch to OpenAthens.
Some publishers and content providers provide persistent links. Find where they are in the below chart.
If the publisher/content provider isn’t listed, it is usually pretty safe to just copy the url from the address bar and to make it work off-campus, prefix it with the OpenAthens prefix: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/umb.edu?url=
For example:
https://go.openathens.net/redirector/umb.edu?url=https://www.degruyter.com/document/doi/10.1515/9780691232768/html
Or use our handy Athenizer tool!
|
Vendor/Resource |
Linking Instructions |
|
Alexander Street Press |
Select the Share button or icon on the page. Copy the link under "Via permalink". |
|
BrowZine Journals & Subjects |
Copy the URL in the address (navigation) bar. |
|
Credo Reference |
From the top toolbar, select Copy Link. This will copy the link. |
|
Digital Theatre Plus |
Do not use any sort of prefixes here! The most recommended method is to copy the permalink from the UMBrella record for the video. if you copy the URL from the browser, be sure to let users know they can click on the sign in button on the Digital Theatre Plus site, type in their UMB email and click Next so they can be sent to the UMB login screen. The links in UMBrella are specially constructed to bring users directly to the UMB screen, which is why we recommend that. |
|
DOI |
A digital object identifier (DOI) can be used to link to electronic articles. Add following URL to the beginning of the DOI https://go.openathens.net/redirector/umb.edu?url=https://doi.org/[DOI] https://go.openathens.net/redirector/umb.edu?url=https://doi.org/10.1097/NNA.0000000000000501 |
|
Ebook Central Books |
Below the Read and Download buttons, select Share Link to Book link |
|
Ebook Central Book Chapters & Pages |
From the toolbar above the book content, select the Share Link Icon. |
|
EBSCO Articles, Books & Journals |
From the Tools section on the right, select Permalink. |
|
EBSCO Search |
From above the results, select the Share button. A small box will pop up. Copy the Permalink. |
| EBSCO Flipster | Copy and paste the URL from the browser address bar. No need to add any sort of prefix. |
|
Films on Demand - Videos |
From below the video, select the Share button. Then select Embed/Link and copy the Record URL |
|
Films on Demand -Collections |
Select a collection and a Page Link will appear in the above (and to the left of) the collection name |
|
Gale Databases |
From the top navigation, select the Get Link button. |
|
Google Scholar Searches |
Copy the URL in the address (navigation) bar |
|
JSTOR (also includes Artstor) |
Copy the URL under the publication/item information. Add prefix, https://go.openathens.net/redirector/umb.edu?url= |
|
Kanopy |
From below the video information, select the Share link. |
|
NexisUni - Articles & Sources |
From beside the article title, select the Link to this Page icon. |
| NexisUni - Searches | From beside the "Results for: [search term]", select the Actions link. Then select Link to this Page. |
|
Oxford Music, Oxford Art |
From below the title and author, copy the DOI link and add prefix, https://go.openathens.net/redirector/umb.edu?url= |
|
Ovid Articles |
From the links above the article, select the Email Jumpstart link. Copy the Jumpstart URL and add prefix, https://go.openathens.net/redirector/umb.edu?url= |
|
ProQuest |
From the article, select the Abstract/Details link. From the Details section, copy Document URL. |
|
ProQuest Search |
From the row of links above the search results, go to Recent Searches. From the row of the desired search, select Other Actions. Select Get link. |
|
PubMed |
Copy the URL in the address (navigation) bar |
|
Skillsoft |
After launching the book, go to the list of tool icons and expand it, by clicking on the More Options icon. Select the Share icon and copy the link either directly to the section or summary page. |
|
UMBrella Records |
From under the "Send to" section in the middle of the item record screen, select Permalink. |
|
WorldCat Records |
From the top of the record, select the Share button. |
No Prefix Please!
For the following databases, do not add any prefix. They will use the account/institution information in the link to prompt authentication.
We recommend the database platforms' built-in persistent link tools, which are typically accompanied by the label, permalink or share link. These persistent links will typically have account info in them.
| EBSCO | authtype=ip,shib&custid=s5071694 |
| Gale | mlin_b_umass |
| Kanopy | umb |
| Proquest.com (except Pivot and African American Heritage, which still need prefixes) | accountid=28932 |
| Proquest Ebook Central | umboston |
| Skillsoft | umb |
| Digital Theatre Plus | no account info. Users can just log in with their UMB email. |
| Boston Business Journal, Sports & Fitness Industry Association | username/password resource. Use the link from the databases list. |
| Vimeo-hosted videos | username/password resource. Use the UMBrella link. |
