Research Guides: American Studies: Home

Recommended Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is a very important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of American Studies. It covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It includes dissertations, book citations and reviews
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of thousands of high-quality academic journals and ebooks across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
American Ancestors This link opens in a new window
If you are in the residence hall, you will need to use VPN to gain access.
The New England Historic Genealogical Society library is one of the nation’s leading research centers for genealogists of every skill level. In it are housed millions of documents, manuscripts, records, books, microfilms, photographs, artifacts, electronic resources, and other items that preserve and reveal our history. The NEHGS has been collecting information about families in America for over 165 years. Our collections are international in scope and contain significant materials for Canada and Europe.
HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window
HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Coverage dates back to the 1700s.

Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Very Short Introductions provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.