Research Guides: NU 371: Evidence-Based Nursing Practice: Home

Professor

Jeanine Perrone

Email

Librarian

Teresa Maceira

Email

Research Guides

Nursing 371 - SPRING 2025

Course Description:

This course focuses on understanding the conceptual, theoretical, and empirical components of research. The student is prepared to evaluate reports of nursing research, identify clinical practice problems, and integrate evidence with clinical expertise and patient preference to support evidence-based, patient-centered nursing practice using the local and national lens of health policy. Concepts covered include health policy, evidence-based practices, accountability, and advocacy.

Articles from the Syllabus

Critical Appraisal Tools and Reporting Guidelines for Evidence‐Based Practice.
Buccheri, R. K., & Sharifi, C. (2017). Critical Appraisal Tools and Reporting Guidelines for Evidence‐Based Practice. Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing, 14(6), 463–472. https://doi.org/10.1111/wvn.12258
Evaluating qualitative research
Clissett, P. (2008). Evaluating qualitative research. Journal of Orthopaedic Nursing, 12(2), 99–105. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.joon.2008.07.009
Understanding research. Research questions and hypotheses
Connelly, L. M. (2015). Understanding research. Research questions and hypotheses. MEDSURG Nursing, 24(6), 435–436
Selecting a theoretical framework to guide a research study of older adults’ perceptions and experiences of falling in the hospital
Dolan, & Taylor-Piliae, R. (2019). Selecting a theoretical framework to guide a research study of older adults’ perceptions and experiences of falling in the hospital. Applied Nursing Research, 47, 38–40.
Nursing research ethics, guidance and application in practice.
Doody, O., & Noonan, M. (2016). Nursing research ethics, guidance and application in practice. British Journal of Nursing (Mark Allen Publishing), 25(14), 803–807. https://doi.org/10.12968/bjon.2016.25.14.803
Literature search strategies for conducting knowledge-building and theory-generating qualitative systematic reviews
Finfgeld-Connett, & Johnson, E. D. (2013). Literature search strategies for conducting knowledge-building and theory-generating qualitative systematic reviews. Journal of Advanced Nursing, 69(1), 194–204. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1365-2648.2012.06037.x
Nursing theory and research
Hickman, R. (2019). Nursing theory and research. Advances in Nursing Science, 42 (1), 85-86. doi: 10.1097/ANS.0000000000000255.
Understanding quantitative research: Part 1
Hoe, J., & Hoare, Z. (2013). Understanding quantitative research: Part 1. Nursing Standard (through 2013), 27(15-17), 52-7; quiz 58. https://www.proquest.com/scholarly-journals/understanding-quantitative-research-part-1/docview/1242111533/se-2
EVIDENCE-BASED PRACTICE Step by Step: The Seven Steps of Evidence-Based Practice. The American Journal of Nursing
Melnyk, B. M., Fineout-Overholt, E., Stillwell, S. B., & Williamson, K. M. (2010). EVIDENCE-BASED PRACTICE Step by Step: The Seven Steps of Evidence-Based Practice. The American Journal of Nursing, 110(1), 51–53. https://doi.org/10.1097/01.NAJ.0000366056.06605.d2
Whither nursing models? The value of nursing theory in the context of evidence-based practice and multidisciplinary health care
McCrae. (2012). Whither nursing models? The value of nursing theory in the context of evidence-based practice and multidisciplinary health care. Journal of Advanced Nursing, 68(1), 222–229. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1365-2648.2011.05821.x
The PRISMA 2020 statement: An updated guideline for reporting systematic reviews.
Page, M. J., McKenzie, J. E., Bossuyt, P. M., Boutron, I., Hoffmann, T. C., Mulrow, C. D., Shamseer, L., Tetzlaff, J. M., Akl, E. A., Brennan, S. E., Chou, R., Glanville, J., Grimshaw, J. M., Hróbjartsson, A., Lalu, M. M., Li, T., Loder, E. W., Mayo-Wilson, E., McDonald, S., … Moher, D. (2021). The PRISMA 2020 statement: An updated guideline for reporting systematic reviews. Journal of Clinical Epidemiology, 134, 178–189. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jclinepi.2021.03.001
Quality Improvement, Evidence-Based Practice, and Nursing Research . . . Oh My
Raines, D. A. (2012). Quality Improvement, Evidence-Based Practice, and Nursing Research . . . Oh My. Neonatal Network, 31(4), 262–264. https://doi.org/10.1891/0730-0832.31.4.262
Nursing leader collaboration to drive quality improvement and implementation science
Ryan, R. W. , Harris, K. K. , Mattox, L. , Singh, O. , Camp, M. & Shirey, M. R. (2015). Nursing leader collaboration to drive quality improvement and implementation science. Nursing Administration Quarterly, 39 (3), 229-238. doi: 10.1097/NAQ.0000000000000111
A matter of taste: evaluating the quality of qualitative research
Sandelowski, M. (2015). A matter of taste: evaluating the quality of qualitative research. Nursing Inquiry, 22(2), 86–94. https://doi.org/10.1111/nin.12080
The practice of nursing research: getting ready for “ethics” and the matter of character
Sellman. (2016). The practice of nursing research: getting ready for “ethics” and the matter of character. Nursing Inquiry, 23(1), 24–31. https://doi.org/10.1111/nin.12102
Evidence-based practice barriers and facilitators from a continuous quality improvement perspective: an integrative review
Solomons, & Spross, J. A. (2011). Evidence-based practice barriers and facilitators from a continuous quality improvement perspective: an integrative review. Journal of Nursing Management, 19(1), 109–120. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1365-2834.2010.01144.x
Hypothesis testing and power in research
Vojir. (2005). Hypothesis testing and power in research. Journal for Specialists in Pediatric Nursing, 10(1), 36–39.

Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care by Kathleen M. White (Editor); Sharon Dudley-Brown (Editor); Mary F. Terhaar (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826147363

Publication Date: 2019-11-28

Ebook access: Limited to 3 users at a time
Evaluating research for evidence-based nursing practice by Fawcett, J., & Garity, J.
ISBN: 9780803622289

Step-by-step, two noted authors and educators show you how to find specific research in the literature, evaluate the methods used, determine if the findings support the theories and models that define nursing practice and incorporate the results into the care you provide your patients. Using research studies from around the world, they also offer insights into the wide range of investigations nurses are conducting today.
Nursing and Healthcare Research at a Glance by Alan Glasper (Editor); Colin Rees (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118778753

Publication Date: 2016-06-21

Nursing and Healthcare Research at a Glance is perfect for nursing and healthcare students, as well as newly qualified practitioners and anyone looking for a refresher or introduction to research. Covering a broad range of topics gathered under key sections, this essential book combines informative diagrams and images to provide memorable information for students on one page, and accessible, clearly written text on the facing page. It includes information on a range of quantitative and qualitative research methods, the process of gaining ethical permission, conducting research with special groups including children, and successfully conducting reviews of the literature. Key features include: Clear and informative full colour illustrations throughout An emphasis on need-to-know research information for busy students and healthcare staff A wide range of research methods, currently used in modern healthcare research An impressive line-up of specialist and well-known experts in the field of health and nursing research This book provides quick access to the principles and reality of research and its implementation within the education and practice environment. It is essential reading for anyone in health service education and service settings with limited time who need to draw on research evidence.

Featured Library Resources

Health Sciences Databases

CINAHL Ultimate (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

CINAHL Ultimate is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.

Unlimited users

CINAHL Basic Tutorial
From EBSCO
CINAHL Tutorials
From EBSCO

PubMed (with links to UMass Boston Holdings)
PubMed (with links to UMass Boston Holdings) provides direct links to online articles available through Healey Library. PubMed also links to some free open access full text.

PubMed Online Training
PubMed Subject Search: How it works
PubMed MeSH Headings
more... less...

Applying Subheadings and Other Features of the MeSH Database
PubMed How to Find Specific Citations
Paste the article title into the search box, or enter citation details such as the author, journal name and the year the article was published in the search box and the PubMed citation sensor will automatically analyze your query for citation information to return the correct citation. The citation sensor incorporates a fuzzy matching algorithm and will retrieve the best match even if a search includes an incorrect term. You do not need to use field tags or Boolean operators.

Ovid Premier Nursing Journals Plus Nursing@Ovid

This proprietary bibliographic data set indexes over 400 journals and periodicals from all over the world and is indexed against the Ovid Nursing Subject Thesaurus. Highly-cited nursing and allied health journals published by leading publishers, including Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW).