Research Guides: Philosophy: Encyclopedias, etc

Philosophy Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc

A Companion to Ethics by Peter Singer (Editor)
Call Number: REF BJ1012 .C62 1993
ISBN: 0631162119
Publication Date: 1993
A Companion to Metaphysics by Jaegwon Kim (Editor); Ernest Sosa (Editor); Graeme Forbes (Contribution by); Elliott Sober (Contribution by)
Call Number: REF BD111 .C626 1995
ISBN: 0631172726
Publication Date: 1996-01-30
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Robert Audi (Editor)
ISBN: 9781786843333
Publication Date: 2015-04-27
Consice Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Edward Craig
ISBN: 9780203157909
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Dictionary of Untranslatables: A Philosophical Lexicon by Barbara Cassin (Editor); Emily Apter (Editor); Jacques Lezra (Editor); Michael Wood (Editor)
ISBN: 9781400849918
Publication Date: 2014-02-09
Dictionary of World Philosophy by A. Pablo Iannone
ISBN: 9780203185964
Publication Date: 2013-04-15
Encyclopedia of Bioethics by Stephen Garrard Post
ISBN: 9780028659169
Publication Date: 2004-02-01

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) (ISSN 2161-0002) was founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.

Key Concepts Eastern Philosophy by Oliver Leaman
ISBN: 9780203005811
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
Philosophy of Mind A-Z by Marina Rakova
ISBN: 9780748627233
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Quiddities: An Intermittently Philosophical Dictionary by W. V. Quine; W. V. QUINE
ISBN: 9780674042438
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
The Shorter Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Edward Craig
ISBN: 9780203086711
Publication Date: 2005-05-19

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research.

World Philosophy: Essay-Reviews of 225 Major Works by Frank N. Magill (Editor); Ian P. McGreal (Editor)
Call Number: REF B29 .W68 1982
ISBN: 0893563250
Publication Date: 1982-01-01

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc

An alternative to Wikipedia. Reference works such as encyclopedias are a good place to find background information on a topic, or to quickly look up a fact. They often include bibliographies telling you where to find additional information.

Britannica Library This link opens in a new window
A general encyclopedia covering all subjects. It also includes current events journal articles, selected and reviewed web links, a dictionary, a thesaurus, and timelines with images and links.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a broad variety of reference sources from dictionaries to encyclopedias covering topics from the arts to the sciences. It has an image collection, maps, customizable data, and audio pronunciation files. You can search the whole collection or a specific subject area.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
The Gale Virtual Reference collection includes general reference resources as well as titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and the social sciences. You can search the whole collection or a specific subject area.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge is the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. With more than 2,500 titles, it includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.