Research Guides: Philosophy: Find Books

Search Healey Library Resources and Beyond

UMBrella This link opens in a new window
Search Healey Library Resources including articles, books, ebooks, journals, maps, videos and recordings.
WorldCat @ UMass Boston This link opens in a new window
Combined online catalog of over 9,000 libraries customized to connect directly to Healey Library holdings & interlibrary loan (ILL).

Recommended E-book Collections

Full-text electronic books can be found by searching UMBrella. These collections are recommended:

Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companion series covers the fields of literature, classics, philosophy, religion, and cultural studies. Each Companion includes essays devoted to a particular person or subject such as Freud, Hemingway, modern Latin American culture, and the African American novel.

The Cambridge Companion to Kant's Critique of Pure Reason by Paul Guyer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780511781407
Publication Date: 2010-06-14
The Cambridge Companion to Plato's Republic by G. R. F. Ferrari (Editor)
ISBN: 9781139001557
Publication Date: 2007-06-25

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.

On-campus and off-campus access is limited to users with a UMass Boston network ID and password.

Critical Reflection: A Textbook for Critical Thinking by Malcolm Murray; Nebojsa Kujundzic
ISBN: 9780773528796
Publication Date: 2005-04-26
Philosophical Writing: An Introduction by A. P. Martinich
ISBN: 9781119010050
Publication Date: 2015-06-30

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Handbook Series brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. Articles review the key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts, and set the agenda for new research. The books have become one of the most successful and cited series within scholarly publishing, and for the first time, the entire collection of work across 14 subject areas is available online. In this new platform, you will now be able to benefit from improved interfaces and navigation, expanded search, integrated social media, and site tutorials and videos accessible from any page.

The Oxford Handbook of Epistemology by Paul K. Moser (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195301700
Publication Date: 2005-10-27
The Oxford Handbook of Metaphysics by Michael J. Loux (Editor); Dean W. Zimmerman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199284221
Publication Date: 2005-11-03

Healey Library Print Collection

Books related to Philosophy can be found primarily under the B call number. These books can be found on the 8th floor of Healey, if the location is listed as Main Stacks. The other call numbers are located on the 9th floor. Reference works are found in the Reference collection on the 4th floor.

Areas of Philosophy have their own call numbers, making it easy to browse for books by subject:

B: Philosophy (General)
BC: Logic
BD: Speculative philosophy (metaphysics, epistemology)
BF: Psychology
BH: Aesthetics
BJ: Ethics
K201-487: Jurisprudence. Philosophy and theory of law
P: Philology. Linguistics
Q: Science (General)
R723-726: Medical philosophy. Medical ethics

Search UMBrella by keyword or subject for books on your topic. If there is a specific book that you require, search UMBrella by title or author.

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to borrow books currently unavailable in Healey Library's physical or online collections.

Please view the tutorial on how to find books, or stop by the 4th floor Reference desk if you need additional help.