Research Guides: Graduate Studies Research: Find Books

Search Healey Library Resources and Beyond

UMBrella This link opens in a new window
Search Healey Library Resources including articles, books, ebooks, journals, maps, videos and recordings.
WorldCat @ UMass Boston This link opens in a new window
Combined online catalog of over 9,000 libraries customized to connect directly to Healey Library holdings & interlibrary loan (ILL).

Selection of Healey Library's Ebook Collections

Full-text electronic books are found in the UMBrella by selecting Filter your results: eBooks under the search box. These collections are recommended:

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.

On-campus and off-campus access is limited to users with a UMass Boston network ID and password.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companion series covers the fields of literature, classics, philosophy, religion, and cultural studies. Each Companion includes essays devoted to a particular person or subject such as Freud, Hemingway, modern Latin American culture, and the African American novel.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge is the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. With more than 2,500 titles, it includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

Our SAGE Research Methods access only covers SAGE Research Methods Books & Reference (Core), Cases Part 1, and Datasets Part 1. After you run a search, select the 'Content available to me' option to filter for results with full access.

Books: Healey Library's Print Collection

Search UMBrella by keyword or subject for books on your topic. If there is a specific book that you require, search the catalog by title or author.

Please view the tutorial on how to find books, or stop by the 4th floor Reference desk if you need additional help.

The World's Books At Your Fingertips

Here's a tip about books: you have an index, word-by-word, of over 10 million books (equivalent to the world's great research collections) and you have a system that let's you order any book you discover, and obtain free of charge within a week or so.

Here's how it works. Search Google Book Search for specific references. This is the electronic equivalent to browsing in the Harvard, Berkeley or Michigan library stacks.

When you discover a book in Google Book Search, open up the page for UMass Boston WorldCat and search using the book title. If we do not own the book, simply click on the box REQUEST ITEM THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN. You will receive an email in a week or so that the book is waiting for you at the Circulation Desk.