Research Guides: Graduate Studies Research: Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations and theses can be found in a various databases. However the most comprehensive place to look is:

Dissertations & Theses: Global Full Text This link opens in a new window
Dissertations & Theses includes dissertations from 1861 to the present from around the world. It has the full text of most dissertations added since 1997 plus the full text of many older dissertations as well.

Getting a Theses

Once you know of a masters' thesis or PhD dissertation you want to read, how do you get a copy?

Typically, masters' theses and PhD dissertations can be found at the college/university library where the graduate student (author) received their degree.

UMass Boston theses are listed in UMBrella. Search the catalog by author, title of thesis, or by typing into the search box exactly this: University of Massachusetts at Boston Theses.

For non-UMass Boston theses & dissertations, just follow these steps:

See if the full text is available through Dissertations & Theses: Global Full Text

If the thesis/dissertation is affiliated with one of the BLC libraries, search UMass Boston WorldCat and then try requesting a copy.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is often your best bet for theses and dissertations. When requesting one, use the Copy Request form and provide as much information as you can.

Sometimes requesting a thesis/dissertation via ILL is unsuccessful. Usually because it is against policy of the lending library to loan their theses/ dissertations. If that's the case, it is possible to purchase a copy at Dissertations Express.

Books on Writing a Dissertation

The Dissertation Journey by Carol M. Roberts
ISBN: 9781412977982
Publication Date: 2010-08-23
The dissertation is a tough mountain to climb; half of all doctoral students never make it to the top. To overcome the practical, emotional, and psychological obstacles along the way, you'll need the right tools and a knowledgeable guide. This informative and inspirational book readies you for each step of the dissertation process, including choosing a topic, selecting the committee, getting acclimated to academic writing, preparing for your oral defense, and publishing your research. This second edition of The Dissertation Journey offers new and updated features, including: - A chapter on ethical considerations - Expanded coverage of digital data collection and using the Internet for research - More detailed information on conducting the literature review - A discussion of how to develop a theoretical or conceptual framework With graphics, checklists, inspirational quotes, illustrations, and sample forms, this valuable resource is your essential guidebook to preparing, writing, and defending your dissertation.
Guide to the Successful Thesis and Dissertation by James E. Mauch
ISBN: 9780824742881
Publication Date: 2003-05-29
Augmented with a new bibliography and streamlined appendices, the Guide to the Successful Thesis and Dissertation, Fifth Edition views the valuable addition of references to university research libraries and advanced information on websites, online searches, electronic literature, and other modern computer methods as crucial for the successful completion of any T/D. This popular text guide features new references and computer-oriented resources for every stage in the creation of honors and master's theses and dissertations and refers to current T/D statistics, federal regulations, ethical codes, and copyright issues and legalities involved in information gathering and study conduct.
Secrets for a Successful Dissertation by Jan Secrist; Debra J. Wright; Jacqueline Fitzpatrick
ISBN: 0761912509
Publication Date: 1998-03-09
This book, designed to help doctoral students carry out and complete a successful dissertation, offers a motivational guide to assist in every step of the process.The authors offer a view of the dissertation process which takes students through the doctoral proposal to the formal defense of the dissertation, and which goes beyond the academic by addressing the emotional and mental stress engendered by the process itself.
Destination Dissertation by Sonja K. Foss (Editor); William Waters (Editor)
ISBN: 9780742554405
Publication Date: 2007-05-25
Dissertations aren't walls to scale or battles to fight; they are destinations along the path to a professional career. Destination Dissertation is a handbook that helps students successfully develop and complete their dissertations. It uses travel as a metaphor, framing the process as an exciting trip of twenty-nine steps that can be completed in fewer than nine months. Designed for use by students in all disciplines and for both quantitative and qualitative dissertations, the book shows concrete and efficient processes for completing those parts of the dissertation where students tend to get stuck, from conceptualizing a topic to editing the final work. It includes a wealth of real-life examples from throughout the dissertation process, such as creating the proposal and coding data. This time-tested method comes from the authors' successful work at the Denver-based Scholars' Retreat. Essential for all PhD candidates! Book jacket.
The Dissertation Desk Reference by Raymond L. Calabrese
ISBN: 9781607094753
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
The dissertation process is one of endurance, willpower, and patience. To simplify the journey for today's graduate students, The Dissertation Desk Reference harvests the components that consistently appear in dissertations, with a separate entry for each component. Each entry includes a comprehensive example taken directly from a high-quality dissertation accompanied by a note describing what the researcher did. This book is user-friendly for doctoral students and their faculty advisors.

Resources from the Graduate Studies

Theses & Dissertations
Policies, Forms and deadlines