Research Guides: Management Science & Information Systems: Find Articles

Databases In Management Science & Information Systems

Frequently referred to as the invisible or deep web -- as opposed to the free web -- Healey library's subscription databases provide highly selective coverage of journals, magazines, newspapers, statistical data, and more. A list of all the library's databases is available on the Databases & Indexes page. If you are searching from off campus, you will be prompted for your last name and library barcode number.

ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library has full text access to all ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings. You can also search the Guide to Computing Literature, which provides comprehensive bibliographic coverage for the field of computer science.
The Guide to Computing Literature indexes all ACM publications plus computing literature from other publishers. It covers books, journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations and theses, and technical reports.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Maintained by Cornell University, arXiv is an e-print service for the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. It serves two functions: preserving the eprints for posterity and providing researchers open access to the eprints. Articles are not peer-reviewed, however, arXiv will not add a paper if it does not fit into the arXiv mission to store and disseminate scholarly scientific research.

IEEE Computer Science Digital Library
Full text access to IEEE Computer Society peer-reviewed journals since 1989 and conference papers since 1996.

Databases In Business

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This business resource exceeds all other databases available in terms of its premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Included as part of the comprehensive coverage offered by Business Source Complete are indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Also includes industry analysis and market reports
Hoover's Company and Industry Reports (via NexisUni) This link opens in a new window
In-depth 40,000 major public and private companies worldwide Overviews of the key industries in which those companies operate
Each record includes company name, address, phone and fax numbers, Web site address, names of CEO, CFO, and chief human resources officer, sales and one-year sales change, year-end, stock exchange and symbol, industry, and a brief overview of operations
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. and foreign publicly-traded companies. Divisions and subsidiaries, selected ratios, and annual financial statements for the past 12 years and quarterly data for the past 9 years. Easy download to Excel. Full-text of annual reports for the past 5 years, and various SEC filings for the past 10 years
Includes:
-Mergent D&B 20 Million Plus Corporate Family Tree
-Mergent D&B Private Company Data
-Mergent US Equity Pricing
-Mergent International Equity Pricing
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times, one of the world’s leading business news organisations, is recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. Providing essential news, comment, data and analysis for the global business community. Whether you're on or off-campus, you will be prompted to sign in with your UMB email.

Mobile app available from App Store and Google Play.
Once you type in your @umb email in the Sign In field, a "Sign in via UMASS Boston" button will appear and prompt you to log in with your UMass Boston login.
Registration required. Once you're prompted to go through registration, an account will be created with your @umb email.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals, popular interest magazines and reference sources. Multidisciplinary coverage, including arts, humanities, sciences and technology. Provides full text coverage to the New York Times from 1985 to the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage, including arts, humanities, sciences and technology.
Contains scholarly journals and popular interest magazines. Many articles are available in full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of thousands of high-quality academic journals and ebooks across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a comprehensive multidisciplinary research database. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and market reports all together in one platform.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides full text online access to over 4500 Elsevier scholarly journals and ebooks from the humanities and physical, life, health, and social sciences.
UMBrella This link opens in a new window
Search Healey Library Resources including articles, books, ebooks, journals, maps, videos and recordings.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the combined Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.
This is one of the largest scholarly databases to which Healey Library subscribes. Use Cited Reference to find out who used a particular book or article for his/her research.

Getting an Article

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include a link to the full text which will take you to the complete article. For help getting an article, follow these steps:

Check if the library has a subscription to the journal through the Journal Finder
Download the browser extension Lean Library to be notified if the library has full-text access
Search Google Scholar
Request a copy of the article from Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Ask a librarian for help