Research Guides: Business Research: Company & Industry

Company & Industry Research

If you need to do research on companies and industries, the Healey Library has some excellent resources to help you. A good place to begin is with the company profiles in Business Source Complete. These are located on the above the search area on the basic and advanced search pages. Each company profile contains a Datamonitor report which includes basic company information and industry analysis. The reports are useful as an overview of a company but not for thorough analysis. For a complete company profile or industry report, go to Mergent Online. Here you can find the company data required by the SEC and full text annual reports.

Business Databases

If you would like to view a list of all the databases available at the Healey Library, go to Databases. If you are searching off campus, enter your last name and barcode to access the databases.

ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Asian Business and Reference
Offers detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere. A great deal of information on international trade is available as well.

Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of accounting and tax topics appearing in key industry publications and newspapers. The quintessential accountant's database.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This business resource exceeds all other databases available in terms of its premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Included as part of the comprehensive coverage offered by Business Source Complete are indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Also includes industry analysis and market reports
Hoover's Company and Industry Reports (via NexisUni) This link opens in a new window
In-depth 40,000 major public and private companies worldwide
Overviews of the key industries in which those companies operate

Each record includes company name, address, phone and fax numbers, Web site address, names of CEO, CFO, and chief human resources officer, sales and one-year sales change, year-end, stock exchange and symbol, industry, and a brief overview of operations.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis ®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. and foreign publicly-traded companies. Divisions and subsidiaries, selected ratios, and annual financial statements for the past 12 years and quarterly data for the past 9 years. Easy download to Excel. Full-text of annual reports for the past 5 years, and various SEC filings for the past 10 years
Includes:
-Mergent D&B 20 Million Plus Corporate Family Tree
-Mergent D&B Private Company Data
-Mergent US Equity Pricing
-Mergent International Equity Pricing
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis ®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Business Websites

Here a reliable business websites recommended by the Healey Library.

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) This link opens in a new window
Economic statistics by industry

Fortune 500
Ranking of the top 1000 companies by revenues
Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
Government agency overseeing public companies and the stock market
ThomasNet
Brief information for 155,000 U.S. and Canadian manufacturing companies, searchable by name, product, location and industry