Here is a sample of some of the print and online reference books available at the Healey Library. More reference works are available in the 4th Floor Reference stacks and through the online reference collections.
A general encyclopedia covering all subjects. It also includes current events journal articles, selected and reviewed web links, a dictionary, a thesaurus, and timelines with images and links.
Cambridge Companion series covers the fields of literature, classics, philosophy, religion, and cultural studies. Each Companion includes essays devoted to a particular person or subject such as Freud, Hemingway, modern Latin American culture, and the African American novel.
Credo Reference provides access to a broad variety of reference sources from dictionaries to encyclopedias covering topics from the arts to the sciences. It has an image collection, maps, customizable data, and audio pronunciation files. You can search the whole collection or a specific subject area.
The Gale Virtual Reference collection includes general reference resources as well as titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and the social sciences. You can search the whole collection or a specific subject area.
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
