Research Guides: Asian American Studies: Home

Librarian

he/him

Email Me

Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Applied Linguistics, Classics, Education, History, Performing Arts, Philosophy & Religion, Women & Gender Studies

Healey Library Statement on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

Healey Library Statement on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

The Healey Library is committed to taking action and making changes as we identify them in order to improve the working and studying environment.

Anti-Racism Guide
Information and resources for the UMass Boston community

Recommended Databases

American Ancestors
If you are in the residence hall, you will need to use VPN to gain access.
The New England Historic Genealogical Society library is one of the nation’s leading research centers for genealogists of every skill level. In it are housed millions of documents, manuscripts, records, books, microfilms, photographs, artifacts, electronic resources, and other items that preserve and reveal our history. The NEHGS has been collecting information about families in America for over 165 years. Our collections are international in scope and contain significant materials for Canada and Europe.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
Preview New User Interface
Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Eviction Lab
The first ever dataset of evictions in America, going back to 2000. Find out how many evictions happen in your community. There is a scorecard and interactive features. Create custom maps, charts, and reports. Share facts with your neighbors and elected officials.
PolicyMap
Upon first login, users will be presented with a registration form.

PolicyMap is a US national data and GIS mapping tool and analytics platform with varied applications. PolicyMap provides access to thousands of data indicators that can be analyzed as layers, as well as data points, on interactive maps. PolicyMap’s data indicators are related to demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, federal program-eligible areas, money and income, lending activity, jobs and economy, education, health, and more. Data can be viewed on a census block or census tract level in many cases, city, county, zip, state, US, as well as by congressional district, school district, state house and state senate districts.

Highlights from Healey

Very Short Introductions
Very Short Introductions provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.

After Camp by Greg Robinson
ISBN: 9780520952270
Publication Date: 2012-01-08
This book illuminates various aspects of a central but unexplored area of American history: the midcentury Japanese American experience. A vast and ever-growing literature exists, first on the entry and settlement of Japanese immigrants in the United States at the turn of the 20th century, then on the experience of the immigrants and their American-born children during World War II. Yet the essential question, "What happened afterwards?" remains all but unanswered in historical literature. Excluded from the wartime economic boom and scarred psychologically by their wartime ordeal, the former camp inmates struggled to remake their lives in the years that followed. This volume consists of a series of case studies that shed light on various developments relating to Japanese Americans in the aftermath of their wartime confinement, including resettlement nationwide, the mental and physical readjustment of the former inmates, and their political engagement, most notably in concert with other racialized and ethnic minority groups.