History

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) collection documents the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. The collection includes 5 series by date and 50 subject subsets, which can be searched separately or together.

Contains magazines, journals, and newspapers which were first published between 1740-1940. Periodicals appear in their original form, with the typeface, illustrations and even the layout unaltered.

Modules include International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism, LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, and Sex and Sexuality- Sixteenth to Twentieth Century. Archives of Sexuality & Gender, the largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research.

This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

CRL holds approximately five million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.

Digital access to more than 100,000 literary and historical classics.

This database brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters. Many cultures are represented, including Dutch, English, French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, African, and a host of Native American peoples. The database is rich in maps, facsimile versions of important books, and images by DeBry, Catlin, and others. All volumes of The Jesuit Relations are included, in both the original language and in English. The database provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists: traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.

Every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Coverage dates back to the 1700s.

The HistoryMakers Digital Archive contains over 2,000 interviews of distinguished African Americans in the fields of science, culture, politics, the arts, and public life. It is unique among collections of African American heritage because of its large and varied scope, with interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present.

Contains books, images, documents, pamphlets, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.
Thousands of pages of books, pamphlets, and related materials provide scholars with in-depth access to the published histories and records of women’s reform organizations throughout the United States across the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.