Research Guides: History: Find Books

Search Healey Library Resources and Beyond

UMBrella This link opens in a new window
Search Healey Library Resources including articles, books, ebooks, journals, maps, videos and recordings.
WorldCat @ UMass Boston This link opens in a new window
Combined online catalog of over 9,000 libraries customized to connect directly to Healey Library holdings & interlibrary loan (ILL).

Recommended E-book Collections

Full-text electronic books can be found by searching UMBrella. These collections are recommended:

Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companion series covers the fields of literature, classics, philosophy, religion, and cultural studies. Each Companion includes essays devoted to a particular person or subject such as Freud, Hemingway, modern Latin American culture, and the African American novel.

The Cambridge Companion to the Age of Augustus by Karl Galinsky (Editor)
ISBN: 9781139000833
Publication Date: 2007-03
The Cambridge Companion to Victorian Culture by Francis O'Gorman (Editor)
ISBN: 9781139002813
Publication Date: 2010-07

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.

Doing Oral History: A Practical Guide by Donald A. Ritchie
ISBN: 9780199329342
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Nearby History: Exploring the Past Around You by David E. Kyvig; Myron A. Marty
ISBN: 9780759113015
Publication Date: 2010-08-01

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Handbook Series brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. Articles review the key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts, and set the agenda for new research. The books have become one of the most successful and cited series within scholarly publishing, and for the first time, the entire collection of work across 14 subject areas is available online. In this new platform, you will now be able to benefit from improved interfaces and navigation, expanded search, integrated social media, and site tutorials and videos accessible from any page.

The Oxford Handbook of American Indian History by Frederick E. Hoxie (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199858897
Publication Date: 2016-04-13
The Oxford Handbook of Latin American History by Jose C. Moya (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195166217
Publication Date: 2010-11-05

Healey Library Print Collection

Books in History can found in a many of sections of the library. Search UMBrella by keyword or subject for books on your topic. If there is a specific book that you require, search UMBrella by title or author.

Depending on the subject in history that you are researching there are a number of call numbers assigned to books on history. Generally speaking, they will be in the D, E, and F call number range.

D: World History and the History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.
E & F: History of the Americas

All of these books can be found on the 8th Floor of Healey if the catalog location is listed as Main Stacks. Reference works are found in the Reference collection on the 4th floor.

Use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to borrow books currently unavailable in Healey Library's physical or online collections.

Please view the tutorial on how to find books, or stop by the 4th floor Reference desk if you need additional help.