Management

Economic statistics by industry

Through the ICPSR scholars and students have access to a large archive of social science data. The data gathered covers many areas of the social sciences including aging, criminal justice, demography, economics, education, health and medical care, politics (election studies, news organization polls, U.S congressional roll call voting records), and substance abuse and mental health.
Some data sets require the creation of a personal log-in before access is granted. Create it with your UMB email. Create an account from an on-campus computer or if you're off-campus, create an ICPSR account via this link.

Offers a wealth of detail on company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. It covers over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.  

Provides abstracts, many with full-text access to the NBER Working Papers in the program areas of aging and the elderly, and health and healthcare. Access to full-text of the papers is in PDF format, and they generally do not pre-date the 1990s.

UMass Boston researchers have access to the entire Roper Center for Public Opinion Public Opinion Archives site. The site has public opinion surveys dating back to 1935 right up to the present day. Use the iPoll database to search the full text of surveys including the individual questions asked and to retrieve the survey questions and survey results.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a leading data research platform and business intelligence tool. Per the WRDS licensing agreement access for educational institutions is available to faculty, graduate students, and staff who have registered for user accounts. These applications are approved by the College of Management. To apply for a user account and to access the WRDS platform click here.