Highly Cited References - SOCIOL 650: Methods of Sociological Research, I - Schutt - Research Guides at University of Massachusetts Boston

Finding References

Note that there is not one best resource for Author and Cited Author searches. For a comprehensive project, it is best to use more than one of the resources listed to the right.

Web of Science tends to be strongest in the sciences and least strong in the humanities.

Google Scholar works well for retrieving citation information for "grey literature" such as state and federal sponsored research reports.

Resources For Highly Cited References

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature. Includes reviews in 37 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

Adding "UMass Boston" as an option to your settings and use Google Scholar to gain access to articles from the Healey Library eResources.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides full text online access to over 4500 Elsevier scholarly journals and ebooks from the humanities and physical, life, health, and social sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a research platform that gives you access to objective content and powerful tools to search, track, measure and collaborate in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. This intelligent research platform provides access to the world's leading citation databases, including powerful cited reference searching, the Analyze Tool, and over 100 years of comprehensive backfile and citation data. Includes Emerging Sources Citation Index: 2005-present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded