Find Dissertations - SOCIOL 650: Methods of Sociological Research, I - Schutt - Research Guides at University of Massachusetts Boston

Find Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and theses can be found in a various databases, including ERIC and PsycINFO. However the most comprehensive place to look is:

Dissertation & Theses: Global Full Text
Dissertations & Theses includes dissertations from 1861 to the present from around the world. It has the full text of most dissertations added since 1997 plus the full text of many older dissertations as well.

Getting a Thesis

Once you know of a masters' thesis or PhD dissertation you want to read, how do you get a copy?

Typically, masters' theses and PhD dissertations can be found at the college/university library where the graduate student (author) received their degree.

UMass Boston theses are listed in the UMBrella. Search the catalog by author, title of thesis, or by typing into the catalog search box exactly this: University of Massachusetts at Boston Theses.

For non-UMass Boston theses & dissertations, just follow these steps:

See if the full text is available through ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

If the thesis/dissertation is affiliated with one of the BLC libraries, search UMass Boston WorldCat and then try requesting a copy.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is often your best bet for theses and dissertations. When requesting one, use the Copy Request form and provide as much information as you can.

Sometimes requesting a thesis/dissertation via ILL is unsuccessful. Usually because it is against policy of the lending library to loan their theses/ dissertations. If that's the case, it is possible to purchase a copy at Dissertation Express.

Doctoral Dissertations

American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955 This link opens in a new window
Free access to nearly 100,000 key dissertations! The print index, Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities (DDAAU), is now available digitally as American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955™. EBSCO and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston worked together to digitize the content and build the free database from the volumes originally published by the H.W. Wilson Company. This effort was made possible through a donation from the H.W. Wilson Foundation.
Doctoral Dissertations and Masters Theses (Scholar Works, University of Massachusetts at Boston) This link opens in a new window
The collection contains open access and campus access dissertations and theses, made possible through Graduate Studies and the University of Massachusetts Boston. The full content of open access dissertations and theses is available to all, although some files may have embargoes placed on them and will be made available as soon as possible. The full content of campus access dissertations and theses is only available to those on the UMass Boston campus.