Research Guides: NURSNG 601: Introduction to Advanced Practice Nursing: Knowledge for Practice in the Global Community: Healey Library

Getting an Article

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include a link to the full text which will take you to the complete article. For help getting an article, follow these steps:

Check if the library has a subscription to the journal through the Journal Finder
Download the browser extension Lean Library to be notified if the library has full-text access
Search Google Scholar
Request a copy of the article from Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Ask a librarian for help

Google Scholar

Two methods for linking Healey Library and Google Scholar. Add the browser extension Lean Library or set up Google Scholar library links.

1. Lean Library - Download the browser

Lean Library is a browser extension that provides quick and simple access to Library-subscribed full-text content. When you’re on a website that contains library-subscribed content, the browser extension will notify you that library access exists and provide you with the Get Access button to prompt you to authenticate with your UMass Boston login. If we do not have full-text access, then the extension will provide a link to InterLibrary Loan.

2. Set up Google Scholar Library Links to access full text articles through Healey Library.

Nursing Databases

CINAHL Ultimate (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.

Unlimited users
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE® is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM controlled vocabulary. Extending back to 1946, annual input now exceeds 700,000 citations.
Ovid Premier Nursing Journals Plus Nursing@Ovid This link opens in a new window
This proprietary bibliographic data set indexes over 400 journals and periodicals from all over the world and is indexed against the Ovid Nursing Subject Thesaurus. Highly-cited nursing and allied health journals published by leading publishers, including Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW).

To comply with vendor licensing agreements and accessibility best practices, please link directly to electronic content rather than posting downloaded files, such as pdfs.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Databases that focus on the effects of health care and evidence based medical practice.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database, Health Technology Assessments, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Methodology Register
PubMed (with links to UMass Boston Holdings) This link opens in a new window
PubMed (with links to UMass Boston Holdings) provides direct links to online articles available through Healey Library. PubMed also links to some free open access full text.
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
An excellent resource for researchers in nursing, community health sciences, communications disorders and other health-related disciplines. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database contains over 250 full text nursing and allied health journals. Full text begins in the early to mid 1990's, but indexing goes back to the early 1980's.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides full text online access to over 4500 Elsevier journals and ebooks. The Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles. This set of journals is a key component of Healey Library's online scholarly journal collection.
LILACS This link opens in a new window
LILACS: A comprehensive database of Latin American & Caribbean Health Sciences Literature, with more than 880 thousand records of peer reviewed journals, thesis and dissertations, government documents, annals of congresses and books, published since 1982. Includes systematic reviews, randomized controlled clinical trials, evidence synthesis, health technology evaluation studies, economic evaluation studies, clinical practice guidelines, technical reports, case reports and others.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine (formerly Health Reference Center Academic) This link opens in a new window
Health Reference Center - Academic covers medical, nutrition, and public health topics. It includes a mixture of scholarly journals and popular magazines as well as some reference books, news articles, and multi-media resources. It has some full text publications.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a clinical decision support resource that delivers evidence-based insights and recommendations authored and edited by world-known experts in their field. It’s designed to be clear, actionable, and apply to the patient at the point of care.

First-time users off-campus: You will see a "Complete Registration" page to fill out your name, speciality, etc. before you arrive at the database.

Books: Healey Library's Print Collection

Books about Evidence Based Practice can found in a variety of sections of the library. Search UMBrella or WorldCat by keyword or subject for books on your topic. If there is a specific book that you require, search the catalog by title or author.