Research Guides: Faculty Research Library Services: Home

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian
Email us
Research Consultation
To schedule a research consultation, click on the link and log in with your UMB email.
more...less...
Schedule a virtual consultation for in-depth research assistance with a reference librarian
Call 617.287.5940
Text 617.826.9978

Archives and Special Collections
library.archives@umb.edu

Circulation
617.287.5900
library.circulation@umb.edu

Collections & Scholarly Communications
617.287.4809

Engagement and Advancement

617.287.3207

Library Administration
617.287.5917
library.admin@umb.edu

Resource Sharing and Document Delivery (Interlibrary Loan)
library.ill@umb.edu

Library Systems and Discovery Services
library.systems@umb.edu

Office of University Librarian

Stephanie.Walker@umb.edu

Reference, Outreach, and Instruction
library.reference@umb.edu

Technical Services

Request Books, DVDs, Streaming Media and More
Healey Library reviews general collection requests on a case-by-case basis. If we don't purchase your recommendation now, we will record your requests for future acquisitions. We do purchase content in support of coursework and teaching, including for use in the Learning Management System
Distance Learning
A full range of services & resources for those working remotely
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery for Faculty
Supplement our library collections with this free service, which allows us to borrow books, articles, and research materials from other libraries.
Library Instruction
Please contact us to bring your class to the library for a tailored research workshop. The workshops can either be conducted in-person at the Center for Active Learning & Library Instruction (CALLI), in your classroom, or virtually.
Place Course Readings on Reserves
We will buy reserve texts, films and assist with your course readings

ScholarWorks This link opens in a new window
The University of Massachusetts Boston is committed to disseminating the fruits of its research and scholarship as widely as possible. Research and scholarly output included here has been selected and deposited by the individual departments and centers on campus.

Open Educational Resources (OER)
Healey Library and IT Educational Technology have joined forces to support faculty members that would like to adopt an open textbook or other OER content, and/or would like to create OER content to be used for their course.

Ebook Collections
Explore the substantial collections of ebooks
Ejournals by Subject
Use BrowZine to browse peer-reviewed journals by subject
Library Research Guides
Browse available research guides, or request that a research guide or page be created for your classes.
Journal Finder
Search our electronic resources by journal title to discover our subscription holdings.
Newspaper Search
A dedicated page to search only newspaper content
Streaming Video
State-of-the-art platform makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs into your library research guides, content management systems, online lesson plans, or distance learning classes.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) This link opens in a new window
CRL holds approximately five million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.
Covidence This link opens in a new window
You will need a personal account.
1. Go to self-signup page to request an invitation. Be sure to use your @umb.edu email.
2. This triggers an invitation to automatically be sent to your email. Be sure to accept the invitation.

A web-based software that streamlines literature and systematic reviews. It helps with the heavy lifting that comes with importing citations to facilitating the screening of abstracts and full text - populating risk of bias tables, extracting data, and exporting.
Foundation Directory Online: Professional This link opens in a new window
Details on U.S. private funders and their grants, including over 100,000 U.S. foundations and corporate donors, over 2.4 million recent grants.
WorldCat @ UMass Boston This link opens in a new window
Combined online catalog of over 9,000 libraries customized to connect directly to Healey Library holdings & interlibrary loan (ILL).

Cited Author Guide
Compile a list of an author's work and find out who has cited the author
Lean Library Guide
Lean Library is a browser extension that provides quick and simple access to Library-subscribed full-text content.
Research Impact Guide
Overview of the impact factor, h-index, altmetrics, and related tools
Think. Check. Attend.
"Think. Check. Attend. is an international initiative that aims to guide and assist researchers and scholars when choosing trusted conferences to attend and to present their research at."
Think. Check. Submit.
"Think. Check. Submit. is a campaign to help researchers identify trusted journals for their research. It is a simple checklist researchers can use to assess the credentials of a journal or publisher."