Research Guides: Accounting and Finance: Statistics

Related Research Guides

Accounting and Finance Statistics and Data

Beige Book
Summarizes current economic data gathered by each of the Federal Reserve Bank districts.

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) This link opens in a new window
Economic statistics by industry

FDIC: Bank Data & Statistics
Reports on individual banks and statistics on the industry as a whole from the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the government corporation that oversees and regulates banking.
more...less...
Current as well as historical statistics
View standard reports, or generate your own reports using FDIC Statistics on Depository Institutions.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
Through the ICPSR scholars and students have access to a large archive of social science data. The data gathered covers many areas of the social sciences including aging, criminal justice, demography, economics, education, health and medical care, politics (election studies, news organization polls, U.S congressional roll call voting records), and substance abuse and mental health.
Some data sets require the creation of a personal log-in before access is granted. Create it with your UMB email. Create an account from an on-campus computer or if you're off-campus, create an ICPSR account via this link.
IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. The IMF eLibrary website contains three collections: IMF statistics, Books and analytical papers, and Periodicals and reports. The IMF statistics collection provides access to the titles: Balance of payments statistics. Yearbook; IMF Committee on Balance of Payments Statistics. Annual report; Direction of trade statistics quarterly; Direction of trade statistics. Yearbook; Government finance statistics yearbook; International financial statistics; International financial statistics yearbook; and International financial statistics. Supplement on monetary and financial statistics.
IMF books
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. and foreign publicly-traded companies. Divisions and subsidiaries, selected ratios, and annual financial statements for the past 12 years and quarterly data for the past 9 years. Easy download to Excel. Full-text of annual reports for the past 5 years, and various SEC filings for the past 10 years
Includes:
-Mergent D&B 20 Million Plus Corporate Family Tree
-Mergent D&B Private Company Data
-Mergent US Equity Pricing
-Mergent International Equity Pricing
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts, many with full-text access to the NBER Working Papers in the program areas of aging and the elderly, and health and healthcare. Access to full-text of the papers is in PDF format, and they generally do not pre-date the 1990s.

STATLINE: National Statistical Institutes
A comprehensive listing of national statistical institutes compiled by Statistics Netherlands.
more...less...
Statistics Netherlands is responsible for collecting and processing data in order to publish statistics to be used in practice, by policymakers and for scientific research. In addition to its responsibility for (official) national statistics, Statistics Netherlands also has the task of producing European (community) statistics.
UN Statistics Division
The United Nations Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. We compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. We facilitate the coordination of international statistical activities and support the functioning of the United Nations Statistical Commission as the apex entity of the global statistical system.
UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a leading data research platform and business intelligence tool. Per the WRDS licensing agreement access for educational institutions is available to faculty, graduate students, and staff who have registered for user accounts. These applications are approved by the College of Management. To apply for a user account and to access the WRDS platform click here.
World Bank Open Data: World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
The Data Catalog provides download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources.